about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, May 8
... Keep on surviving
Do you have a Mother's Day present yet? I don't. I'm at the mall, supposedly looking for something, but I can't find anything. Not yet, anyways.

Two big things in the past few days, and I can't talk about either one yet. Right now, they're both only vague possibilities, but my mind is racing at a hundred miles an hour, trying to comprehend it all. "What if"-ing at an alarming rate. Jumping to more conclusions than it has any right to think about.

We'll see. I'm sure that if anything comes of either one of them, you'll hear about it. But, you know, it's one thing to jump to conclusions in my own head; it's another story altogether to share them with someone else.

I tried to get out of the habit of doing that a long time ago, when it started to make me look dumb when things didn't turn out the way I thought they might! Heh. It's just so much easier to wait until something's a done deal, because otherwise, everyone else starts jumping to conclusions and making assumptions, not just me, and that just gets messy.

This could be big. Could be. It could turn out to be nothing, too, and I'm not sure which I'd rather have it be.

Oy. This is why I like facts. It's so much easier to speculate when you have them all. When you don't, the situation just gets so blown up in your mind that it couldn't ever be that close to reality, no matter how much you wanted it to be.

On a completely different note, hockey fever has hit this city. I'm at the computer kiosk in the mall, and there's a TV with TSN on beside me. Every few people, someone will stop to watch, and see what's on. Usually, not that many people stop and look.

I really need to find a good present--my mom's birthday was on Thursday. Sucks for her--she gets a "combined gift" every year. But you know, when they're only a few days apart, it's just that much easier.

Suggestions?
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:29 p.m.