about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Mar. 5
... Could we bend the laws of nature
I think I'm going to die. I just printed out a rehearsal schedule (on a calendar) for the next 3 weeks before my showcase, and... yeah. Plus, I get screwed over for rehearsal times the week before, because that's the week that Shakespeare goes up, so I have to work around that. Oy. I lose 4 rehearsals because of it.

It's all going to come together in the end, right? It has to. I know why this last month was the most stressful for Jen, Janel, and Chelsea, though. I just have to take it one day--one rehearsal--at a time, and not worry about it beyond. Yeah. Easier said than done. Must breathe. Must not hyperventilate, or I'll spend the next 3 weeks with my head in a paper bag.

What was I thinking?!

I was thinking that I need lunch, and then I need to go to the gym. If I have time by the time Logan gets back with the car. I don't think I will... at least, not to get to the gym. So brutal. I haven't gone all week, and it's not a good thing. I keep scheduling more and more things into my days, though, and I keep realizing that I do need to do my homework at some point. Maybe. If I really do want to graduate.

My showcase should make up for everything else, I think. No other assignments for the rest of the semester. I'm taking 19 credit hours, working about 30 hours per week, plus doing my practicum all at the same time. Most people don't do things that stupid in their last semester. Most people just aren't that stupid in general. Not me, though. I had to prove that I could do it all, and do it all at once.

Oy vey.

Just keep breathing. As long as you do that, you're one step ahead of the game.

What was...

1. ...your first grade teacher's name? Mrs. Tidsbury, but she left partway through the year, and we had a different teacher. I don't remember her name, though.

2. ...your favorite Saturday morning cartoon? Um, I didn't really have one. I didn't watch a lot of TV when I was a kid.

3. ...the name of your very first best friend? Nadine and Nathan. We knew each other from the time we were in diapers, and we're still friends now, actually. Nadine and I are, actually. I don't see Nathan all that often.

4. ...your favorite breakfast cereal? Froot Loops. I didn't get them often, though, because "sugar cereal" wasn't a common item in our house.

5. ...your favorite thing to do after school? Read a good book, or else go to whatever I had on that night--piano lessons, choir, whatever... I was a pretty busy kid.

One year ago today: There are so many things where I'm extremely disciplined, and I can make myself do it, even when I don't want to, because I've made the commitment to stick with it, and because I know it needs to be done. The end product is worth the work. Something like a play--any play. The rehearsal process isn't always fun; I don't always like spending hours every week in rehearsal or meetings; it's inconvenient to shop for props or costumes or whatever... but I would never consider not doing it. It means far too much to me to back out of it.
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:05 p.m.