about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Sept. 11
... I only know I had to dance alone
I can't believe it's been three years. In the past two days, I think I've recounted the story of where I was at least five times, and I've heard at least five other people's stories. Everyone remembers it--it was our generation's defining "where were you?" moment.

I was brushing my teeth, getting ready to leave the house to catch my bus for work, when Kat's mom phoned and Kat came in saying, "They're bombing the US! Washington and New York!" My initial reaction was that it was something like Orson Welle's War of the Worlds--a radio broadcast that was a hoax, but everyone believed it. It only took a split second, though, to realize that wasn't the case.

Everyone was glued to the TV, everywhere I went. No one was talking about anything else--the news took over the world.

There's still something about the date that rings strangely with me. I see it, in relation to something else--a show, a garage sale, a birthday, an appointment--and my immediate reaction is, "No! That's not supposed to be a normal day!" The date has been so ingrained into the consciousness of society, though, that I don't think most people will be able to look at the numbers the same way again.

Anyways. If you want to take a look, here are some pictures from Jen and Mike's wedding. Wasn't it beautiful?

It's weird. This week has been a great one, but it's been a difficult one, and I'm not sure why. It hasn't been difficult in the same way that the past few weeks have been, but it's had its own unique challenges. Strange, because, like I said, it's been an exciting and fresh week, and I'm not sure where the "difficult" comes into the picture, but there it is...

I'm excited, though. I sat in on an acting intensive workshop with Ron Reed today, and took copious notes. Lots of great ideas, and I definitely took something (or many somethings) away with me.

Anyhow, tomorrow's the sr. high leaders' retreat, and we're going for breakfast first, so I should get myself to bed so that I can be there in time.

But, you know, it's the end of the world as we know it, and I feel fine.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:24 p.m.