about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Sept. 12
... Watching stars without you
The junior and senior high leaders had a day retreat today--some team bonding and vision-casting time--out at Camp Chamisall. I hadn't been out there in 5 years--I haven't counselled or been a camper since '99, and it was so weird to get back out. Good weird. We drove in on a bus, being all noisy and having fun, and I felt like I was a camper again. Just one of the kids.

And that's really what today was. Some games, with the sr high leaders vs the jr high leaders, and just some time for us to hang out, build community, and be the kids for a change. Or maybe not for a change. Maybe that's our usual state of being.

I really need to counsel at camp this summer, though. I know I say that every year, but one of these days, I just need it to be a priority, and I can't keep putting it off. It's sad when it's been 5 years since I went to the camp where I spent so many years of my childhood.

About half of us there today, though, have been out there at one point or another. We were all commenting on the cabins, the lodge, where we used to line up for dinner, the traditions, the songs, the funny memories, the playing field... all the little things that we remember so incredibly vividly. It was just fun.

One year ago today: 4. Are there any names you really hate or love? What are they and why? The names I really dislike are mostly because I have negative associations with them from someone I know or knew. Samantha is one. It's a pretty name, but I don't think I'd ever name my child that. I really like Bronwyn Leagh, Kieran Emma, Madison Cailiosa, Caleb Riley, Davin Micah, or Kennan Matthew. But you know, that's just off the top of my head.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:48 p.m.