about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Mar. 22
... I found a dress. Not that I need it for anything, but hey, I found it.
When I was little, I wanted so desperately to take ballet, or figure skating, or gymnastics, or something like that. I've always loved the "artistic" sports. The ones that combine athleticism with beauty. With, well, art. Drama, music, poetry... I guess that's why I love watching figure skating on TV so much. When I was little I would always wish that was me... that I could do that; that my parents had put me in it when I was little.

And then I see people who are 3 and 4 years younger than I am winning the Olympics, and I feel incredibly old; like I'm passing the prime of my life. Yep, I'm a geezer.

And a loner. This week, out of five nights, I spent two of them at work, and the other three at home, having a nice "relaxing evening." You know what? There are only so many of those you can take. I want a social life again! I want people to do things with! I don't want to just sit on my duff, watch reruns of "Whose Line" and read far too many diaries for my own good. Not that diaries are bad. Just that I don't need to spend this much time on the computer.

Good grief; I need a boyfriend. Or something. A social life would be nice.

Yay! I have something to do tomorrow night! Woo! Okay, I get far too excited about the littlest things in life. :op Oh well... I'm not going to spend the night sitting at home... I'm going to hang out with Laura! And we're not just going to hang out at her house and play board games with her mom (although that was an incredibly fun time, let me tell you!).

I had an urge to sew today. I dragged Kat into Fabricland, and we sat there looking at the pattern books... I really wanted to sew something. Preferably a formal dress. What I would wear it to, I'm not exactly sure, but I wanted to sew it anyways. I'm sure that will pass. It's always more work, time, and expense than it's worth to sew something. Although I found a pattern for a dress that I would love if I were graduating... or needing a formal for any occasion. As it is, I need a new spring dress, but I'll probably just buy one. It's not worth sewing one. Especially since I'd have to go to my parents' and use their machine, and that would just be a pain in the butt. :op

Yes, I know I'm a geek, but check this out (it's the black one on the right with the 3 asymmetrical straps...):


infinite || abyss

posted at 10:56 p.m.