about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Sept. 3
... The one thing that I want to hold onto
I think that what I love most about the beginning of the school year are all the expectations. I have great expectations of my classes, the profs have great expectations of us, and the year always looks like it'll be a good one. The profs are passionate about their classes, and they sound so interesting, and I think that I'll stay on top of my classes and everything.

I know it's going to be a great year. It's always going to be a great year. A few weeks in, the work gets overwhelming and things change, but for now, it's a terrific year.

I'm always on top of my game in September.

I say that the year is more like a continuation than it is a new year, and it really is--there are some things that are always the same, especially at this level of education. There are some things that are the same. My classmates, the profs, the school, the routine. There are things that I've known about since last April, and things I signed up for in the spring. Or over the summer.

But there's always the anticipation of the new school year. New clothes. New books. Mew binders and pens. New classes. New syllabi. Fresh notepaper.

Back-to-school is an institution in and of itself.

And speaking of which, I have to go buy my textbooks. Alas and alack. I must spend money on things I don't really want to spend it on.

*sigh*

One year ago today: Two nights, 2000 kms, a few rainstorms, a ton of beautiful scenery, four cappuccinos, two provinces, and a whole lot of thinking time later, I'm back. And I had a great time doing it.
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:36 p.m.