about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Sept. 4
... Dragonfly
It's going to be okay. Everything's going to work out fine, and I'm okay with the way it's going to be. I really am. I'm excited to work with him, and I know the year's going to be good. It'll be a nice change, and everything will work. I know that.

Almost finished my many, many errands... the never-ending to-do list. And not a lot to say. All in all, despite all the activity, it was a pretty uneventful day. I got a lot done, but nothing worth talking about.

I haven't even had any really deep thoughts that are worth recording. It's just been one of those days. A productive but not incredibly creative day.

Although I did have coffee with Darren this afternoon, and that will, I think, turn into something creative and productive, and all around good. We had a good talk. And I have more respect for him than I did before. Heh. I guess actually sitting down with someone and talking to him will do that. Or else it'll do the opposite. But it was really good to talk about the fall and the ministry and everything, and see where he sees it going, and how that's going to look. I think he'll be a good person to work with. I know my role's going to change, but I know there's still a place for me, and I know he still wants there to be a place for me, which is really reassuring.

I am excited about this year. There's a greater sense of anticipation than I've had for the past couple of years. It's the last year, and the end is in sight, and that's a great thing. Second and third years were hard. Partly because they were just tough years in general, but also because they're the middle. It's not fresh enough to be the beginning, and too far to be the end. It's just... blah. Just there. The slugging out the daily routine with the end not yet in sight.

But the end is in sight now. This is the home stretch, and every other cliche I can think of to describe it. This is year four. The magical "senior year." The elusive final year. The one that I'm really far too young for. The one that it seems far too soon to be in. But the one that's here nonetheless. Wow. Yikes. This is it. This is what I've invested the last 3 years and many, many dollars into. This is where I'm going. And that's a big, scary, exciting thought.

One year ago today: It's funny how some things change. I was so excited to go back to school last year, and it turned out to be such a strange year. This year, I'm not nearly so excited... I'm more tired, more jaded, and less enthusiastic, but I'm still hoping and praying that this will be a much better year than last year was.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:44 p.m.