about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Sept. 8
... Les mots insuffisants
I love words. I just love how they can create such vivid images in people's minds; how they can be so powerful and mean so much.

I love decorating with words. I have various notebooks, daytimers, Ikea drawers that are all decorated with random words and phrases that I've cut out of magazines. Single words that reflect whatever I'm feeling, or what I want to feel.

My poetry journal... on the front, it has my name and a picture of a woman leaping in the air, and then the words: "exhilaration, invisible, the heart of darkness, grow, fresh, beauty, secret, something to say, write on, hot." The back has a picture of a little girl smelling a flower, and it says, "Journeys, I promise, quote unquote, life is too good to feel bad, forgotten feelings, happy, love, believable unbelievable, kiss, fighting, always heard, deepest feeling, memories, beautiful, stronger, funny girl, exciting, delight, life, live, life goes on, silence, enough, soul mate, friend."

I love the power that words hold; I love the way that they can express so much and yet be so ineffective and insufficient so much of the time.

It's funny how the people who are the most dedicated to words--the ones who know the language the best--are the ones who best understand its inadequacies and its shortcomings.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:33 p.m.