about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Apr. 4
... A tragic but inspiring tale
I'll deviate a little bit from talking about Joseph (although you can be sure that there will be more later today/tonight!) to do this week's Friday Five. Aren't you glad for the break?

1. How many houses/apartments have you lived in throughout your life? Well, we lived in a condo in Silver Springs until I was 3, then we moved to a house in Ranchlands and lived there until I was 7. Then we moved to the country, and lived in a little tiny rental place for 8 months or so, until our house was ready to move into. We moved to the farm when I was almost 8, and lived in that house until it burned down when I was 12, then we moved in with my grandma for 6 months, until our house was finished. I lived there until I graduated from high school, and I've lived in 4 places since then--dorms, with Lynsae, Shannon, and Jen; then the house on Chapel Road for that summer; then my house with Kat, and now with Janel and Chelsea. So, I guess that's 9 houses altogether.

2. Which was your favorite and why? Hmm... probably dorms. It was my first experience living away from home, I had great roommates (most of the time), and I lived with 40 other people, so I had a built-in social life and there was always someone to do something with. I didn't have to worry about trying to find something to do or someone to hang out with, because there was always someone looking for something to do.

3. Do you find moving house more exciting or stressful? Why? It depends. It's a combination of both. I really hate packing, because it turns everything into such a mess (I prefer unpacking, because it's so much faster and I can put things away as I do it), so that kinda stresses me out, but in general it depends on what else is happening in my life at that time.

4. What's more important, location or price? Mainly price, but location is fairly important. I tend to look for something close to the school and relatively close to the church. Within those parameters, though, price is a pretty big consideration.

5. What features does your dream house have (pool, spa bath, big yard, etc.)? I've always wanted to live in a house with a pool--an indoor pool--and maybe a gym, because I might be more motivated to work out if I don't have to go anywhere to do it. I really want to put a crosstrainer or something by the TV, because then I could work out and watch TV at the same time! Other than that... a beautiful yard (but someone else to do the yardwork), a big bathroom with a jacuzzi. And professional decoraters to help me achieve the look I want. I'm not sure exactly what that is, but I know I don't have the kind of creativity to do it alone.

One year ago today: But seriously, people, what kind of country are we creating, in which our preschoolers have no idea who Big Bird is? And they wonder what's wrong with society. What sort of appreciation will they have for the arts if they're not even exposed to a proper version of Sesame Street at a young age?! What are we doing to ourselves? We're self-destructing!! There will be no culture left to perpetuate if we don't get a real Sesame Street back on television!!
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:48 p.m.