about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Nov. 20
... To change who I used to be
New favorite movies? Before Sunrise and Before Sunset. I've been wanting to watch both of them since I saw a review for Before Sunset, but I wanted to watch them together. Totally worth it. Those are amazing movies. Adding them to my "must-buy" list. There was something just very simple and real about them that really drew me in. Also, the story behind the movies--the way the characters grabbed the actors and directors, and the collaboration of the whole story--is pretty amazing, too.

In any case, it was a good way to spend the evening.

And the monologue that I was stressing about is over, with more kudos and compliments than I deserved. It was okay, but it wasn't as good as I could have done, and it kind of bugs me. For myself, definitely--just that I know I can do better, and I didn't live up to my own standards. But also in terms of compliments and stuff. People were commenting afterwards, which is fine, but afterwards, I was thinking, "They're so indiscriminate, if they think that this was that great!"

It reminded me of something that Cindy said once, about finding specific people to seek constructive criticism from, because most people will just compliment indiscriminately, and you can't really put a lot of stock in what they say. The other thing it reminded of was a comment about standing ovations. It used to be that a standing o signified an incredible performance. Now, it's far more commonplace, and instead of being the greatest compliment that an artist can get, it's something that signifies a good--but not spectacular--performance.

Anyways... be that as it may, the performance is over. I don't have to do it again, and it didn't completely suck, which is, I suppose, a bonus.

And tomorrow morning, I don't have to teach, work, or be at church early for any reason. I can dress up for church--for the first time since the beginning of October--and I can go and sit through an entire service. Again, for the first time in a number of weeks. Exciting.

And opening night is two weeks from tomorrow.

EEEEEEEEEEKKKKKKK!!!!!!!
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:13 p.m.