about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Nov. 22
... Cue 47
Gah. I hate thinking that I'm all grown up and independent, and then doing something absolutely stupid that proves that I'm not. I am so never going to get there. Ever. I'll be an 80-year-old grandma, still doing stupid things that make me feel like I'm 15.

On the plus side, Laurel and I saw Spiderman 2 in the cheap theatres tonight.

I realized today that, for the first time in my life, my peers aren't all in my age group. The people I spend the most time with and talk to the most range from Becky, who's almost the same age as my mom; Ismarys, who's about 14 years older than I am; and Blair, who's the same age as I am. There's something to be said, though, for expanding the greatest influences beyond people who happen to have been born in the same year as I was.

I know that's a pretty common argument for homeschooling, but I'm not saying that it was bad for me to spend most of my life around kids my own age. I learned to relate to them, but I also learned, through other life situations, to relate to kids younger than I am and adults who are older than I am. Which is, I think, a dying art among kids. It's interesting to watch younger teens try to relate to adults. Some of them just have no clue how to do it, which is definitely a detriment to them. One of the many social skills that going to church helped to improve.

Oh! I decided that if my theatre company wasn't going to be named Unnamed Productions, I would call it Cue 47 Productions. Bonus points if you remember what the significance of Cue 47 is. Teehee. Sign the book if you do--I'm curious to know who actually has any idea. Now that's a blast from the past. But it would be a cool name, don't you think?
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:48 p.m.