about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Mar. 15
... Just an ordinary day
And thus begins the most boring and pointless tech week of my theatre career.

Yesterday was load-in and Q to Q. To put this into perspective, when we loaded in for Joe (which, granted, was an insane show), we were at the theatre at 8:00 a.m., and we loaded in until 4 or so, took a break, and came back at 6 for the Q to Q, which lasted until about 11 or 12. Yesterday, we got to the school at 1, waited for the stage to get there, watched the guys we rented it from set it up, set chairs up, waited for the light guy to arrive and then set up the lights, and then left for 2 hours. Came back at 6, had a Q to Q that ran about 2 hours, and we were done.

The rest of this week, I have to be here to set up the props table before the show starts, and clean up afterwards. That's it. I will have about 2 1/2 hours of free time in between every night. There's really nothing that requires a runner, so I'll just be... there. I'm scheduling a few other rehearsals for during the show times, because what else am I going to do? I can't work a shift (grr), I can't really run errands, and I can't have half of my rehearsals, because my actors are in the show. We'll just be in an easily accessible room. Tonight, I'll memorize lines.

Of course, I'll probably be thankful for this "boring and pointless" tech week in a week, when I'm up to my eyeballs in everything else. I guess I just have to make sure I use the time productively.

Right now, things are in such a weird place. Laurel, Logan, and I all have different primary concerns right now (Hobbit, audition, and showcase, respectively), and yet we're all involved (in pretty major ways) in each other's concerns as well. We're all trying to put priorities on our own projects, as well as help each other with the other ones that are going on, and it's making for some interesting scheduling and so on.

I think it's moreso for Laurel's and mine than for Logan's... When it comes to my showcase, they're two of my main people in terms of getting it off the ground. Not the only two, but they're pretty important. For Hobbit, Logan and I are two of Laurel's staff, and we're both pretty involved and invested in making it happen.

I just find it entertaining that all three of us have such major projects, all at once. And they all happen within a week of each other. March 26, March 30-April 1, and April 3. Talk about timing...

Who else lives like this?!

One year ago today: Laurel is sleeping on my floor again, although I highly doubt she's asleep. Last night she tried to spoon with my bed, though. Entertaining concept for me to try to wrap my mind around.
infinite || abyss

posted at 6:14 p.m.