about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Feb. 20
... On which we used to rely
Hmmm. I'm still alive, but my car is barely hanging on by life support. The battery won't hold a charge for more than about 2 hours, so that means that unless I want to get up every 2 hours all night and run it for 15 minutes, I won't have a car to get to work in the morning. Unless there's someone around to give me a boost. I have cables (borrowed cables, that is); I just need the boost. Which I can just about guarantee that there won't be.

Oh well. I'll have a new battery on Tuesday (since Monday is a holiday, and my dad's suppliers aren't open), and I'll have my car back then. I can handle the bus for a day, I think.

Except that I don't think I have any change for the bus. Dang. I'll have to search the couch cushions or something. Grrr.

Anyways... It honestly hasn't been that eventful of a weekend. Becka and I spent Saturday de-molding and de-mildewing the basement, and I still have to mop it, once my car is reliable again and I can take the mop home at night and back to work in the morning. It was gross and dusty, and I breathed in spores of things I can't even imagine, but at least it's clean. Our landlord had better love us, and at least give us lifelong good vibes, if not credit towards rent.

Other than that, it was work. Plenty of work, and not much exciting to show for it.

You know... I think that Kim is my new hero (I also think she needs her own entry on my cast page, but that's a story for another day). I don't know that I could put up with what she puts up with on her own. We had a hard enough time with six of us, let alone just one. For that--for still being there, and for still being determined to perservere through it--she deserves many kudos and her own private standing O. Well, for that, and for letting me use her computer tonight. :o)

Hoy. I'm excited for my car to have a good battery. Because as much fun as it is to call my dad or Blair or AMA in a panic when I need a boost or to borrow cables, it's not that practical. Their goodwill and kindness only extends so far. My dad's still may extend a little further than Blair's--after all, it's a case of being flesh and blood versus being a damsel in distress, and damsels in distress get old pretty quickly, whereas with flesh and blood, you really have no choice. But even that is getting old.

My humor deteriorates as it gets later.

Anyways. I think it's about time that I head out and try to start my car--I've only been here for 1/2 hour, so it really should be fine, but knowing my luck, it'll decide to hold no charge at all...

Dun dun dun...

Wish me luck!

One year ago today: I sound like a petulant child, declaring over and over and over again that "I'm not going to do it!!" all the while being dragged across the floor, shoes leaving black marks on the linoleum, towards the door. As much as I rant and rave and make a fuss, it doesn't change anything. It doesn't change the fact that I have to move in a week.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:42 p.m.