about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Feb. 22
... Only living boy in New York
Heeeyyyy.... Happy Anniversary to Kat and Christian! Can anyone else believe that it's already been two years? Wow.

Anyways... my car is alive again, and I only had to take the bus for a day and a half. And walk for two days, but that's besides the point. I'm such a wuss. I mean, I took the bus everywhere for my first two years of college; just look at what having a car and being able to drive where I want, when I want does to me. But it's alive now, and I still have the life support riding around in the trunk, just in case it was something other than just the battery.

Day off today. Much happiness ensued. I had a rather cut-short coffee with Tracey (in which I didn't actually eat/drink anything) and then a rather long lunch with Laurel (in which I did), and then I went home and lay down and watched Friends reruns.

Yes, I love that show. One day, I will have all the episodes on dvd. It's a slightly expensive endeavor, thought, so it's a slow road. Funny, though, that when it was actually on TV, I was really into it during seasons 1 and 2 (grades 7 and 8--oy, I'm getting old), and then during seasons 9 and 10 (3rd and 4th years of college), but only sporadically in the years between.

Fortunately, it's so incredibly syndicated (if I were to sit in front of my TV from 4 p.m. until 9:30 p.m., I could probably catch somewhere around 6 episodes) that I've caught up with very few problems and have seen most of the series now. There are a few episodes I still haven't caught (no, I don't sit in front of the TV all night--most nights I'm not home early enough to watch anything but the news), but I've seen many more than I ever did in the first runs.

I think I just love the idea of the same cast building relationships and characters for 10 years. I know what there was with our class after only 4--so many ups and downs that we didn't know how to deal with it--and I can't imagine the bonds after ten. It just seems sort of idyllic and special to me, and I like to think that by watching the show, I can glimpse a little bit of that bond.

Yeah, I'm a sucker for relationships. That, to me, is the first thing that makes a great movie or TV show or play. I can love the technical aspects, the acting, the directing, the story... and all of those have a very big place... but the first draw for me are strong relationships.

Have I sufficiently proved my dorkiness? Maybe I'll ask over at the spark and see what everyone else's guilty pleasure TV shows are.

Speaking of the Spark, I think I need to update the members in my favorites, and also the member/ring lists that appear on my links page. I'm so bad at keeping those up to date... I get around to it every few months, but things change over much faster than that.

Anyone have any brilliant ideas for a birthday present for Blair? His birthday is next Monday, and I'm kind of stuck. I need some incredibly original ideas. Hmm. I'm sure I'll come up with something.

One year ago today: I was hoping to get more hours at work this week--no classes; it would be nice to have a few more hours and a few more dollars next week. As of right now, though, I'm only booked for 19 hours... right around my usual amount. I commented on it to Logan tonight at work, and he brought up a good point--maybe having a normal number of hours this week isn't a bad thing, because I have several other things that should be claiming a good chunk of my attention. Two other things, to be exact--moving and my showcase. You know. Minor little events like that. Heh.
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:55 p.m.