about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Dec. 12
... And the soul felt its worth
Grrr. I had a really long entry, and the computer ate it. Bah. And I even copied it, and the computer just froze, so I had to restart it, and I couldn't hang on to the words. *sigh*

I wrote my last exam this morning! Woo! :o) Show closes on Sunday, and that's the end of the semester. Well, this is technically the end of the semester, but that's the end of my busy week.

The show at church opened last night, and it went really, really well. Things were looking good, which was a blessing, since the dress rehearsal was still stop-and-go. Yeah. Gotta love it when that's the case!

My knees are all bruised from crawling around in the catwalks yesterday, trying to get the snow machine set up. And, at the last minute, I did. And, during the last scene, it snowed. :o) I wish I could have seen the looks on the actors' faces when it started, because they had no idea that it was going to happen. But, of course, I couldn't do that. Logan and I were up in the catwalks, making the snow happen. We were right above their heads. Literally. Well, actually, about 40 feet above their heads.

We sat up there and talked about making the magic. The people behind the scenes that make things work. The little things that make the show perfect. It's the same thing I was talking about when I did props for Joseph. The people behind the scenes don't do it for the glory; they do it for the magic. For the sake of the art. Just because you believe in the show.

Although I do find it funny when people ask what I'm doing during the show. "I'm stage managing. You know, calling the show."

Um, excuse me? What are you doing?

Most people have no idea what that refers to, and if they have some idea, they don't know what all it entails. It's prety funny. It's the same sort of reaction I get when I tell people that I'm a theatre major. Yeah. I get one of two reactions: "That's so cool!" or a look that says, "What on earth are you going to do with a degree in theatre?"

Anyways, going Christmas shopping this afternoon, so I have to go get in the shower and get ready to head out. I was going to do the Friday Five before going, but I'll try to do it later. I'll just leave the questions up until I answer them, because I'm that much of a dork.

1. Do you enjoy the cold weather and snow for the holidays?

2. What is your ideal holiday celebration? How, where, with whom would you celebrate to make things perfect?

3. Do you do have any holiday traditions?

4. Do you do anything to help the needy?

5. What one gift would you like for yourself

One year ago today: I think there's a third category, though. That's the category of laughter. That's what Mayhem was. There was no point. There was no moral, there were no deep philosophical questions, and the audience wasn't expected to come away thinking about anything except who the murderer was. There were lots of questions, but they all had to do with the murder, and they were all answered in a funny twist at the end of the play. The point of that play was to make people laugh.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:33 a.m.