about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Feb 11
... To throw them off guard
I need a nap. I slept at Laura's last night, just randomly deciding that I needed to spend the night, and we laughed ourselves silly over the whole Buttercup incident. I didn't get nearly enough sleep. Ah well... That's why I have no afternoon classes. Well, that and the fact that I'm kinda supposed to be doing homework. Homework Schomework. A nap will be much more beneficial to me at this particular point in time. After loonie lunch, though.

I get to play my Rachmaninoff today... I like surprising people every once in a while. Doing something they don't expect I can do, like play the piano at that level, or bring out a character that's totally unlike what I usually do, or be silly and goofy in front of the people who usually see my quiet side, or something like that. Something that catches them off guard; shows them something new about me that they didn't know before.

I did that the last couple of classes. Jordan and I were repeating today (twice in class), and Laurel and I were repeating last Monday, and both times, I put myself into it and just let myself play. Everything Cindy always tells us to do when we work... I did. And it was a lot more fun and more effective than when I don't. Heh. Fancy that. The teacher's right. :o) But it was a blast, and I threw people off-guard. They saw something they didn't know to expect from me. That's a nice feeling. It reminds me that I'm not just who people think I am; I'm more than just the perceptions that anyone may have of me at any given time.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:22 a.m.