about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thursday, Aug. 18, 2005
... It's delightful, it's delovely, it's delirious
Whose bright idea was it for me to get a killer cold and flu in the middle of August?! I've had to take the past two days off work, and I've been in bed for most of that time. And I'm still hacking and sniffling. At least some of the pressure on my head has been alleviated--last night, I was out with Tracey and Wanda, and it felt like my head was three times its normal size.

Anyways, I'm popping as many pills as I think I can get away with, and hoping that one morning, I'll magically wake up with clear sinuses and a non-rattling chest. Preferably tomorrow. Because I do rather enjoy breathing.

I'm being edged out of my house, an inch at a time, and I'm ready to just go. It's nothing purposeful, just a feeling that Becka and Alex are just kind of putting up with me until I leave. He's starting to move some of his stuff in, and the place is getting slightly crowded.

It wouldn't all be so bad if I actually felt like this was my house on some level, but I'm home so rarely, and I cook so little, that everything I do here is pretty much in my bedroom. Hence, the house itself feels more like Becka's house, and I feel like some sort of extended houseguest.

Even that wouldn't be so bad, but I'm starting to pack, so my clothes are divided between boxes and suitcases, so not only am I living in a house that's not really mine with people who will be more comfortable when I'm gone, but I'm also living out of a suitcase. Talk about rootless.

Next place I live is going to be mine. Whether I'm (heaven forbid) renting again, or whether it's my house that I'm buying, it's going to be mine. I'm tired of living in someone else's space.

I'm kind of half-sitting, half-lying, and there's a big, warm mug of hot chocolate sitting on my chest. It actually feels really nice, and I'm debating finding a heating pad to rest on my chest. I know there's one somewhere around the house, but it would feel fabulous. Maybe even clear my breathing somewhat.

*sigh* I think there's an elephant sitting on my chest.

One year ago today: But aside from that. Blair and I went to see Delovely last night. Interesting movie. I'm not a huge fan of the storyline, but I loved it artistically. There were some great moments and technical things in there--the scene transitions, for instance, were amazing. I'm very conflicted about it. I want to buy it when it comes out because of the music, and the technicalities, and the acting, but I don't want to buy it, because I don't really like the storyline.


infinite || abyss

posted at 7:55 p.m.