about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Dec. 7
... Sleigh bells ring, are you listening?
You know who I missed today? I missed living with Chris. I can't believe it's been a year. Well, almost a year since we moved out of that house.

But seriously. I was thinking about it today, and I realized that last Christmas was a really good one. Despite all the upheaval and the emotional turmoil and everything, it was one of the best Christmases I had through most of my college years, for many reasons. Just goes to show that it's not just the circumstances that make things miserable or wonderful.

I'm not sure exactly what all else it is--I could spout some crap about how it's all about attitude, but that's not really it, either. It's bigger than that. Bigger than circumstances, attitude, and relationships. There are elements of all three that are involved in the overall happiness of a situation, but it's not all about any of them. It's not even just about all of them put together. It's more. It's more about the presence or absence of a God-given peace and joy that makes things good or bad. Everything else is just gravy.

Maybe last Christmas was one of the most memorable because it was the first time that the God-factor transcended all the other factors. For as good and bad and ugly as everything else was (and there were definitely elements of all three--very good, very bad, and very ugly), the overall memory and impression of last Christmas is a good one. It was peaceful. Joyful. Celebratory. Just... more.

Better than I, or anyone else around me, could ruin. It was like God wanted to give me something more.

Blair and I were talking about joy vs. happiness the other day, and how joy is so much deeper and richer than happiness. Happiness is sometimes a part of joy, but you can have joy without happiness.

Speaking of Blair... you want to know who from that family is coming to the show tomorrow? Becky, Bruce (Becky's husband), Mark and Maria (two of Becky's 4 kids), Blair, Lois (Blair's mom, Becky's sister), and Susan (Becky and Lois' sister). Yeah. I've got half the clan coming. It'll be fun, though. I'm really excited that they're all going to be there.

Anyways, my bed is starting to call my name. I should head in that general direction.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:48 p.m.