about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Sept 24
... Bittersweet memory
It's incredible how exhausting emotions can be. The past two days have been roller coaster days--worried, frightened, excited, laughing my head off, crying, angry, upset, surprised... the whole nine yards. They're wonderful things--I'm so glad God gave us emotion, but some days, they're almost too much to handle. They come and go so quickly. I guess it's healthy to be able to switch between emotions as a response to stimuli, and not let one ruin the entire day, but that gets to be a lot sometimes.

I feel so helpless. Like I can do nothing. I know that I can, and have to, pray, and that's the biggest thing that I could ever do, but sometimes it feels like so little. I want to be able to be there, to be a shoulder to cry on, to listen, and not just hear everything second hand. I want to be there for every part of the good and the bad times, not just the good times, or worse than that, the superficial accounts of all times. I want to be the one who's there for all of it, but right now, I can't be, and that's a hard thing to realize. I understand in my head, but my heart doesn't always get the picture: that right now my place is to be here, and be supportive and available, but not to try to fix things, because I can't.

I'm so concerned, though. That's really not all that productive, unless in my worry, I take it to God. When I'm at a place where that comes into so many of my thoughts and affects my day in such a huge way, really the only thing to do about it is to pray about it, and use that as the reminder to give it to God. Otherwise, I just end up worrying about something that I can't change.

Anyways, I'm tired, and I feel as though I'm being defeated. I'm not; I know that, but I feel like I am right now. I need to go deal with that, and then go to bed. So, sweet dreams, all.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:31 p.m.