about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Nov. 14
... Tell me no secrets, tell me true lies
For lack of anything better to say, how about a Thursday Threesome or two? It's been a few months since I did one, I think, but I like the last two weeks' worth, so I'm going to answer them. From November 11...

::World Weary Traveler::

Onesome: World-- Okay, you've been here; you've been there. ...or maybe not. Is there someplace you think it would be cool to spend a holiday? Christmas in the Alps? St. Patrick's Day in Erie? Oh, sure, take the entire family if you'd like! Christmas in London or New York. Heck; let's do one this year, one next. Those are both cities that I've love to get to see at Christmas. I've only ever been to either during the summer, which is cool, but something magical just happens at Christmastime anywhere.

Twosome: Weary-- Have you ever had to deal with jet lag? How have you handled it? ...and which direction is worse for you, going East or going West? Just curious... Yeah, I usually just try to stay up and keep normal hours in the time zone that I'm actually in, and not think about what time it is in whatever time zone I woke up in. And, for some reason, it's always harder coming West. Coming back home from Europe, rather than going there.

Threesome: Traveler-- When you've traveled, what conveyance has bothered you the most? That camel in Morocco? The train ride through the Rockies? Your brother-in-law's Dodge? What just set your nerves on edge? Um, all I can think of is the man that snored so loudly in the Stansted airport and kept us from getting any sleep whatsoever the night before we flew from London to Salzburg. That wasn't actually a conveyance, though. Hmmm. Maybe the backseat of our third van on Testament--Bob? Was that its name?--where I had approximately 3 cubic feet for me and all my stuff.

And, for something totally new and different, the Thursday Threesome from November 4. Totally original, hey?

::Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day::

Onesome: Winnie the Pooh-- What was your favorite book series as a kid? Was there one you tried to find the complete set to read? ...or maybe just one book you remember well? Well, depending on my age, I loved Nancy Drew, Sweet Valley, Baby-Sitters Club, Laura Ingalls Wilder... I have a bit of a fascination with children's literature. I think that well-written children's books are something to be treasured throughout life, and I'm working on getting all my favorites for my daughters. And me. The biggest ones right now are everything Madeleine L'Engle has ever written. I'm about 1/3 of the way there, but I've got all the popular ones now--I'm looking for the more obscure, out of print ones.

Twosome: and the-- holidays are just around the corner? Are you ready for things? ...or are you too immersed in life to even think about it? Well, I handed in my shoebox this morning, so that means that the season is officially underway. I haven't started my other shopping, though, or my cards, although I've bought some of the cards. The Christmas show is only 3 weeks away, too, so that's definitely keeping me well-grounded in the fact that Christmas is right around the corner. Like, waiting to jump out at me and yell boo.

Threesome: Blustery Day-- Hey, what do you like to do on a stormy day when you're not working or in school? Do you curl up with a book? Watch TV? Bake? How do you pass the time when you don't feel like going "out in it"? A good book and/or a movie. Sometimes I clean, but if it's not worth going out to do any work, I hardly think it's worth staying in and doing work! I always used to have cream of mushroom soup on days like that--my food matched the weather. Now, it tends to be something more along the lines of cereal and hot chocolate.

Ah! I remembered something that I wanted to post! But it's worth an entry all its own. It can't be buried at the bottom of this one. It's already been written and saved, though, so I don't have to worry about remembering what I was going to say. I'll post it tomorrow, probably.

And... Blair's flight gets in sometime within the next hour or so. Ish. I'm so excited to hear all his stories.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:25 p.m.