about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Oct. 21
... Frisk me!
And the paper is done! And it's only 1:00 a.m. That's the best part. And... to make it even better, I went to church tonight, played piano for "Offerings," and went to Katelyn's for a while afterwards with Laura, Katelyn, Josh, and Janice (Katelyn's mom). That was fun... and a nice break from the paper.

And still, even with that smattering of irresponsibility, I managed to get my paper finished in a reasonable amount of time. It's a decent paper, too. It's creative (I hope), and presents some good arguments and quotes. I hope that doing my character analysis on the Ghost is an original enough idea that it gets me some extra points for taking a risk and doing something unconventional. Cindy's really big on that. In acting class, we get better makrs if we risk and fail than if we play it safe, never experiment, and always do it "right," because that means that we never learn anything more than what we already know. I'm hoping that policy extends to her papers as well! I'm also hoping tht no one else did the Ghost. Kind of takes the fun (and the brownie points) out of being original if someone else has the same idea.

Anyways. I'm really wanting to do a new bio. I almost want to do it tonight. However, I know that would not be the smartest thing I could possibly do. So, hopefully tomorrow I'll get something written and posted.

I had a really good time doing "Offerings" tonight... it's a good group to work with. Fun. I miss playing with a band regularly. I miss playing with Daryl... he was the first worship leader that I really played with--I mean, I'd sung before, obviously, but I learned to play with him. We definitely had our ups and downs with that--sometimes, what came out was nowhere near "music." Oh well... live and learn, hey? It gets better over time. That's what experience is for. We can look back on those days, however many years ago, and laugh, because we know we didn't really sound all that good. Sometimes, we sounded downright horrible, I think! :o)

Anyways, it was good tonight. Except for the freaky keyboard. There were songs that I was playing in a string pad, and the keyboard had this weird touch sensation thing. I'd play, and the note would hardly come out, then all of a sudden, it would surge, then go back again. It made for a few interesting moments... a few inside laughs with the band. It's weird. I much prefer playing a real piano. I loved it when we did the worship in the sanctuary and I got to play the grand with the band... so much better than a keyboard! Well... I don't mind using the keyboard for the synth, but when I'm playing actual piano parts? Definitely not. It's so inferior to a real piano.

Anyways, I think I'm finished with that. I have all kinds of stories, but I'm far too tired to go into them... besides, they lose the humor when I try to retell them. But let me leave you with this idea, courtesy of Mike. What would happen if microphones, in addition to amplifying sound, also amplified smell? Can you imagine having the bad breath of countless speakers, teachers, singers, choirs, pastors, whoever wafting out over the audience?

Try to imagine that one. :o)
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:03 a.m.