about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Jul. 24
... What would you do at the zoo?
Go look at this, okay? It's really, really funny, and I laughed hard when I saw it. Mike and Jen are silly people... there's a story behind it, of course, but you have to go look at the picture first before you get to hear the story, okay? So, go look, okay? Right now. Then I'll tell the story.

.

.

.

.

Have you looked? Are you cheating?

.

.

.

.

Okay. About a year and a half ago, when Jade and I were dating (we weren't actually going out, but we went on a few dates), we joked about going to the zoo, stealing a giraffe, travelling to Africa on our giraffe, and making it back in time for breakfast the next morning.

I told Jen about it, and the story became just as much (moreso, actually) a joke with her and Mike as it did with Jade, because we always talked about how I was going to steal a giraffe from the zoo and use it to ride across Canada to go visit them.

Last spring, Mike asked me to send him a picture of me riding something, so I sent a few, but none of them turned out right, or were the right angle, or anything like that. When I went out there last summer, Jen took a few pictures of me sitting on Bertha, her big rubbermaid container that she packs when she moves. I sent the doubles back to her when I sent the rest of the pictures from that week, and then kinda forgot about it.

Now, since the giraffe joke had been several months before the request for the picture, and they were never mentioned in conjunction with each other, I didn't put 2 and 2 together and figure out why they wanted the picture of me. One day a few weeks ago, though, I was checking my email in London and came across an email from Mike with a link in it to this page.

Dang it; I thought I could get away with it!! I thought no one would ever catch me with Geraldine the Giraffe! :o)
infinite || abyss

posted at 2:37 p.m.