about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Oct. 29
... It's the most wonderful time of the year
It should be Christmas. It feels like it. Really, this kind of weather is only acceptable in December. We're at the end of October. That only means one thing. We need to fast forward about 6 weeks, and then we'll be at the right place. Seriously, though, today felt like it was about December 21.

It's just one of those days. It's about -10 Celsius, snowy, a little cloudy, and the perfect weather for the week of Christmas. Laurel and I were downtown today, walking around on Stephen Ave, and the music that was playing sounded so... Christmas-y. Even the people walking around us seemed like they were on Christmas errands, rather than just on their lunch break from work.

I want it to be Christmas. I'm so excited for it. I'm excited for things between now and then, too, of course--reading break, Mayhem, another Offerings... there are all kinds of things in there. But I just love December. I can take the whole month--exams, papers, and all--just because it's December. I love the Christmas concerts, the hype in the malls, the decorations, the Christmas banquet at school, buying presents, being in between semesters... it's the best month of the year, I think. It's only a month away, though, and that month will go so fast.

Ooooohhhhh..... I went to a new bookstore today. It's called McNally Robinson, and it's very cool. I like it a lot. Three stories of books. A cafe. Downtown. The atmosphere is just great... I found a great journal for something like $15. It's leatherbound, and the last leather journal I was looking at (at Reid's--which is still an amazing store) was closer to $50. I was suitably impressed. It's open late, too, so I can see myself spending evenings there. *sigh* Good stuff...

And, before we get to Christmas, we go through Halloween. That means that I get to spend this week setting up the church for the carnival on Thursday. We do a huge glow-in-the-dark carnival every year (last year we had about 1100 people; this year they're expecting around 1500), and I'm in charge of setting it all up and cleaning it all up. We do our entire auditorium in black lights and all the games are neon stuff, we have a petting zoo and inflatable bouncers, and there's more candy, cotton candy, popcorn, and snowcones than any child should rightfully have. I have volunteers to help, but the main workload is mine. It's a fun job, though. I really enjoy it.

I spent today on my own personal treasure hunt through the church, looking for all the pieces to the games. They were all over the place... I found pieces that had been missing last year, which is always fun. I'm still missing a few things, though. If you've seen the remote control cars, the pogo stick, or the golf clubs, can you let me know? Thanks. :o) There's a sign on the office door that says pretty much that exact thing--I figure that maybe someone has seen them kicking around somewhere...

Anyways, I don't think anyone really cares about all the minute details... besides, I should get something to eat before going to Nexus tonight.

I'm wired. I didn't go to bed until 3; I was up earlier than usual--and I stayed awake--and I've been going non-stop all day. Pretty soon I'll crash and burn, but this is a pretty funky feeling for now!

One year ago today: But this is where the hope, peace, and optimism comes in. Sometimes, it's not there as much as at other times, but I'm learning not to worry about it. At least not so much. :o) That's why I'm "learning" not to worry. I'm not there yet, but do we ever get there, wherever "there" is?
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:34 p.m.