about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, May 5
... Something sweet and almost kind
This week is going to kill me. It's only Wednesday, and I'm already barely staying awake during class. Forget the next two days. I have a show going up on Friday, shifts almost every day, and 7 hours of class per day. I have papers to write from both this week and last week, and I just want to be finished. I don't want to write 2 more book reviews and 2 more papers. Yeah, the subject matter is interesting, but I'm just almost beyond the point of caring.

I've been ready to be done for a long time, but it seems like every time I get close to the end, something else comes up that pushes that goal a little further out of reach.

But on May 27, I will leave the country for 6 weeks, and at that point, I will be done. I leave, and that's it.

Why is it that I could push so hard through the past four months, and burn out in the last week?

In the past four months I have:

Why is it that I can fly through that, and remain relatively sane, and now, when all I have is 7 hours of school, 3 hours of work, and 2 hours of rehearsal every day, I can't manage to stay awake? I guess it's just that last "I so badly want to be finished, and my body so badly needs the break, and I just can't seem to get it."

Three more days. Four. Maybe. Until Monday. Then, it's just work.

But I put in Beauty and the Beast last night while I worked on homework. I love that movie. It's the greatest Disney movie ever. And maybe I'm just a little biased, because I've seen it live on Broadway.

One year ago today: I'm so self-conscious when I'm on camera. I mean, I think that I did a good job today, especially for the first time I've really been on camera, but I don't like my voice, and I think my face is too round, and I have zits because I'm PMS-ing, and my jaw does funny things when I talk, and and and... I have to get over my issues. Seriously. I mean, there's no one in that class that I don't trust, and everyone else has the same ideas about themselves. But still. It's going to be an interesting week, and I don't know who I'll ever let see those tapes.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:45 p.m.