about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, Sept. 3
... But I'm not getting you
So. Here's the basic rundown.

I left Calgary at around 10:30 on Sunday night, and drove as far as Field, about 2 hours away. I parked my car at a rest stop and crashed in the backseat, and then woke up and started driving again by about 6:30 in the morning. I got to Vernon at around 11 (BC time), found a motel, checked in, took a shower, watched some TV, relaxed... then I drove to Kelowna and hung around there for a bit, then headed towards Vancouver. Yah. That's the long part of the story. Which I'm not going to go into now. Got stuck behind an accident, in the rain, on the Coquihalla. Got to Vancouver around 6:00 or so, drove around, found a coffee shop, hung out there for a little bit, did some journalling, then drove back to Vernon. Drove in the pitch black. In the rain. Again. It stopped raining after about an hour, though. Got there around midnight and fell asleep. Woke up, hung around the motel till it was time to check out, started driving back. Stopped in Revelstoke in lunch, picked up some hitchikers in Golden, made it back to Calgary by about 6:30. Not bad for a couple of days off, hey?

And it was worth it. Okay, the Vancouver leg of the trip didn't quite turn out the way I expected it to, and if I did it again, exactly the same as this time, I probably wouldn't go that far. I kinda knew it was a bad idea; I just still wanted to go. But even that was still good. It was such a great time... the best thing is that it was just God and me. A lot of time to sing, to worship, to think, to talk to myself, to sort through stuff in my head, to dream, to just be. It was great. Spontaneous. Peaceful.

And the biggest thing is that I did it. I always talk about just leaving, but this time I actually did it. That's a big part of what makes this so great for me...

It's interesting how every song can have meaning if you're looking for it. There are so many songs that are just so applicable, in some way or another. Now, granted, you can't life your life based on what you hear in a song, but sometimes, it just expresses things so well at just the right time.

I was just leaving Vancouver when this song came on the radio.

Of all the things I've believed in
I just want to get it over with
Tears form behind my eyes
But I do not cry
Counting the days that pass me by

I've been searching deep down in my soul
Words that I'm hearing are starting to get old
It feels like I'm starting all over again
The last three years were just pretend
And I said,

Goodbye to you
Goodbye to everything I thought I knew
You were the one I loved
The one thing that I tried to hold on to


It's interesting how life goes in cycles. Frustrating, but interesting. It just keeps going... and going... and going... and going. And some things change, and some don't. But life is always life.

Right now, that song seems to fit. I don't know if it always will; I don't know if it always has. But at this moment...

Anyways, school starts tomorrow (bleah), so I've got to get to bed. I'm tired.
infinite || abyss
posted at 11:40 p.m.