about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Jul. 27
... Nightingale, sing me a song
Today is a good day. I like days where things are just "good." They don't have to be spectacular to be a great day; it just is, because it's a good day, regardless. Just because it's a new day, and that's the most amazing thing in the most sincerely non-stereotypical way possible.

I was rereading some of the entries from just before I left on my trip, and remembering what an amazing time that was... what an intense time of growth, thankfulness, and God. I love growing. I love looking back and seeing where I was, where I am, and where God's taken me through all of it. In some ways, I almost feel like that was so naive and innocent, even though it was only a few months ago.

It's not that I'm not so "innocent" anymore, or that I've become so embittered that I feel like that was just a place where I was idealistic and young, and now I "know better." If anything, it's the fact that I've seen so much more of God in these past few months, and have experienced so much more goodness, not sadness, that I feel like I was innocent for expecting so little. The sense of wonder was so great, after such a dry time. I was so thirsty that I just soaked in any evidence of God's presence and his hand working.

I don't want to lose the wonder and excitement. I want to be as in awe over the little things and the good, non-spectacular days as I am over the huge miracles.

One thing about the trip that was really cool was that I never got to the point of taking it for granted. Maybe it was the fact that I had to go through so much to get it, but it never got to the point of "oh, this trip. This sucks, this isn't what I wanted; why I am I here?" There were days when I was frustrated, of course, or tired, sick, or whatever else. It wasn't all fun and games, or all an easy ride, but I was thankful for all of it, and that made it one of the best experiences of my life.

*sigh*

Sometimes, that's all you can do. Breathe a deep, contented sigh and realize that life doesn't get much better than this. Even on the bad days, there's still something to sigh about.
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:57 p.m.