about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, May 16
... But my world is half asleep
Tonight was the first night of my new no-rehearsals summer, and I was home by 7:30, which is just strange on so many different levels. I watched some TV, called my grandma, painted my nails (both fingers and toes), bought a pair of sandals (okay, I did that before I got home, but after I got off work), and am about to curl up with a good book.

Seriously. What am I to do with myself? I've got so many summer projects, and I actually got one of them done last night when I got home from work at 9. Granted, it was the smallest project of all of them--get some pictures from the past year into albums--but still. That one's finished. Somehow, though, I don't think that the next ones will be nearly so quickly or easily accomplished.

I need something to keep me busy, though!

I had a really good talk with my grandma tonight, and she said something so interesting about age. We were talking about my various cousins, and who was off doing what (I have a lot of cousins in college right now, so they're all over the place, doing various internships and projects), and how it just seems so strange that these kids (myself included) are all growing up so quickly! My grandma said that she feels like she stopped getting older at a certain point--she's not sure where it is, but she definitely doesn't feel 72. And, to a point, kids are kids, and they keep getting older, but they're just kids still, but at some point, it's almost like age catches up.

She said that all of her children "caught up" to her (in terms of the differences in age) a long time ago, and now her oldest grandchildren are starting to catch up, too!

Maybe that's why I get along with her so well--and why I've started seeing her as more of a friend and confidante as I've gotten older. She's still grandma, and there's still that respect and acknowledgement of so much more life lived than I have yet, but the older I get, the more I find that I can relate to her on more levels, and the more I appreciate her as a person, not just as Grandma Joyce.

She's not an old lady at heart--she's actually still quite spry physically, too. She babysits my 2-year-old cousin every day, and keeps up with him quite nicely. But even besides that, she stays young, and that makes it easier to "catch up."

And I really want to go see them.

One year ago today: I guess it's an okay thing that I don't specialize in one genre of theatre, or even one role within the spectrum of the theatre. It keeps my life interesting, and keeps me pushing for more. It makes me want to train so that I could do a musical if I wanted to; it makes me want the skills to direct whatever genre I want to; it makes me want to keep my acting skills sharp, so that I can audition for a variety of parts; it makes me want to understand tech, so that I can be of some use backstage, when I'm not doing anything else in a show.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:54 p.m.