about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, May. 24
... No one loves me the way you do
Yesterday morning, I got up at 3:45, went to Denny's with Kim at 4:30, and drove her to the airport for 6:00. Then, instead of going home and back to bed until I had to get up, I drove straight out of the city and was in Creston by 10:30. It was a fantastic day, and now I've got one more before I have to leave at 7 to get home so that I can get a decent sleep before I go back to work tomorrow.

And thus begins the first trip out here for the rest of the summer. I'm anticipating that there will be many--I'm hoping for at least once every couple of weeks. It'll be fantastic. Kat and Christian's house is great (even with the fuschia carpets), and I can't believe how much Jakob changed even in the 3 weeks since I saw him last. At that age, it's incredible how much things happen, and I want to be here as much as I can so that I miss as little as possible.

I was paid a compliment yesterday (kind of indirectly--it came through Kat, rather from the source), but it was the best thing I've heard in a long time.

Kat was talking to a mutual friend, a guy who had, at one point or another liked both of us, and he said that we were probably the closest friends he knows. That the two of us have gone through just about everything we could possibly go through, and are still as close as we can be. Our friendship was just so important that we put as much work into it as it took to make it fantastic. And it is--it's stronger than it's ever been, and we're closer than we've been in the 9 years (my goodness, it's been a long time) that we've been friends.

Anyways, this person said that that was one of the qualities that attracted him to each of us (separately, and at very different times), but that it was something he noticed. The fact that we were that committed to our friendship showed him that we each had the traits that would see us through difficult times in any relationship, if it was that important, and he saw those traits as being important and carrying into a marriage.

Interesting that guys notice that kind of thing, and that they actually realize how important it is. And that he would comment on it. That just made my day.

Well, it would have made my day if it hadn't already been made by seeing Kat for the first time in 3 weeks, and then made even better by getting to hang out with Jakob, and then made just a little bit sweeter by knowing that I didn't have to work for 2 days in a row. But if all that hadn't already happened to make my day, that compliment still would have made it.

One year ago today: I'm excited for my trip, but there's a part of me that doesn't really want to leave. No, scratch that. I do want to; it's just weird. It's always strange to be gone for such a long time. It's like a time warp--everything seems to stay the same, but things can change so much in a month and a half. I always feel like I should come back to the same world I left, but it's inevitably a little bit different. As am I, I guess.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:56 a.m.