about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Fri, Jul. 11
... The freedom that you walked away to gain
Hmm. Anyone around and wanting to hit the Stampede tomorrow? It'll be my only chance this year to head down there, and I'd like someone to go with. If not, I might go by myself, but it's always more fun with someone.

I've been home for a few hours--since 4:oo or so--but I've just been hanging around and enjoying my solitude and my TV. Yeah. It's kind of sad, but that's okay. Laurel and I keep packing up faster, which is nice. Means we can get out of town faster. VBS ended at noon, and we were packed up and out of town--including a drive-through for lunch--by 1:15.

I think that by the end of August, I'm going to put an engagement ring on my own finger, just to have something to show for the past however many months. I don't know what it is--it's not even that there are as many relationships in my immediate sphere of influence as there sometimes are. I'm going to two weddings this summer (Dave and Katie's, and Lynsae and Jereme's), but that's not even it.

I don't know... there's just something about it. It's all very... immediate. It feels more "there" than ever. Something's happening, and I don't know if God's preparing me for something, or if my imagination is just working overtime, or what. I just know that something different and interesting is happening.

Anyways. I'm going to post the Friday Five now.

1. Do you remember your first best friend? Who was it? Probably Nadine and Nathan. They're part of my earliest memories with friends of any sort. I've known them for as long as I can remember, and we used to do everything together. My mom was (is) good friends with both of their moms, so we did a lot together. Nathan and I got married when we were 4, we went to Sunday School together since we were babies, and we were in kids' choir together all through elementary school.

2. Are you still in touch with this person? Nadine and I still are. We went through youth group together, went on two missions trips, acted together, I directed her... all kinds of stuff. We're still good friends. Not as close as we used to be, but we still hang out a fair bit. I see Nathan around every now and then, but we haven't been really close since we were in elementary school.

3. Do you have a current close friend? Yeah... The person I'm probably closest to right now is Laurel, but if I had to classify my "closest" friends, it would probably be her, Laura, Jen, and Lynsae. They're the ones who are part of my life no matter how often we do or don't talk. They're the ones I can go to with whatever, and I know they'll understand it, no matter how long it's been.

4. How did you become friends with this person? Well. Laurel and I met at Rocky in our first year... we've gotten really close in the past year and a half or so, but I've known her since I started college. Lyns was my roommate during my first year at Rocky. Laura and I met at youth group when we were in high school. I was in grade 12 when we really got to be good friends. Jen was a friend of a friend in high school, and we started emailing each other from a forward that my friend Breanna sent to her that had my address on it.

5. Is there a friend from your past that you wish you were still in contact with? Why? Yeah... I've had a number of close friends through the years--people that I've lost touch with for one reason or another. It hasn't necessarily been anyone's fault, but we just haven't stayed as close as we could have. Christy, Breanna, Kat, Cara... They brought a lot into my life and influenced me a lot. I hope they realize that.
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:38 p.m.