about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Jul. 12
... Feels like I'm alive
My body is getting a little too used to this "normal" schedule. I didn't set my alarm this morning, and I didn't have any reason to get up, but I was still up and ready for the day by 9:00. It's a travesty!!!

I bought half of Laurel's birthday present. Speaking of which... I should probably get at least a card for Janna. Teehee. I love finding that perfect gift for someone, and knowing that they'll think it's absolutely hilarious.

*sigh* What a perfect day. Nothing pressing to do, no one important to see, but it's beautiful out, I've got some free time and a few good books that I haven't read yet, and a little bit of extra cash to get myself some small treat. Nothing huge, but something little, fun, and necessary. At least, something I tell myself is necessary.

I can walk outside, I can spend the day on my own schedule, and I can talk to whomever I want, whenever I want. Solitude is nice sometimes. Even if it's the kind of solitude that comes in the midst of a crowded shopping mall, a busy park, or a street with hundreds of other people walking down it. That can be just as good as--if not better than--the kind that comes with sitting at home, alone, behind closed doors. This is the kind of solitude that can refresh and invigorate at the same time--the kind that inspires in more ways than one. The kind that lets me watch, listen, observe, and take it all in. The kind that lets me be introspective, contemplative, and reflective.

I love it. It's such a perfect day.

Made even more perfect by the fact that I can buy tank tops in the children's section, and therefore pay half the price I'd pay in the women's section (and make myself feel better about my size, too).
infinite || abyss

posted at 3:53 p.m.