about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Jul. 14
... Voulez-vous
Ack! So frustrating!!! I just want to know, and it's been about 4 days since I heard from either of them! This whole waiting deal is definitely not my cup of tea. I just want to know, and the sooner the better. I'm totally not patient, though. I just want it my time, my terms. Of course. I'm human, and don't we all want it like that?

I can't believe that I'm going to be home in 5 days. It doesn't feel like I've been gone for almost 2 months, but it feels like I've been on the road forever. London (the first time) feels so far away.

I'm hitting the "I can't wait for..." part of the trip. Slurpees. My church. My bed. Looking for a new house. Getting ready to go to Ontario for Jen and Mike's wedding. Going to Wendy's. Going to Rocky to pick up all my returned assignments. Eating Quizno's. Going back to work. The little things. And the big things, like getting plans for fall straightened out.

I was looking back, though, and I was writing my "I'm excited for..." list from Testament two years ago today. Some things are the same, some are different, because life is so different now than it was then. It's just the way it goes, I guess.

It's funny--I was thinking the other day about how these decisions seem so large and looming right now, but when I look back on them in a year, they will have been made, and I'll know how it all turned out. Either my life will be drastically different, or this will just be a blip on the roadmap, and it won't alter things that much in the long run, or I'll be in the middle of some other major decision that will be just as life-altering as this has the potential to be.

It's so cyclical, but I think it's such a big deal, every single time.

Anyways. Time's almost up, so I've got to run, or I'll get charged for all kinds of extra time. Hopefully it won't be another 4 days before I have the chance to update again. I had one yesterday, but the computer shut down on me, and I lost it all. Yeah, such is life.

One year ago today: Our billet's house is interesting. Our billet is an older woman, who was widowed about a year ago, and every knick-knack and everything of importance to her is proudly on display. Every couch is covered with pillows, and nothing matches, but it's all very homey. I'm sleeping in a king-sized bed, and Laurel has a cot. Heh. She offered the bed to both of us, to share, but Laurel picked the cot over the big bed.
infinite || abyss

posted at 8:42 p.m.