about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, June 26
... Even the wrong words seem to rhyme
The news has officially hit the church grapevine, and there's no hope of stopping it now. It's one of those things where you can control the release for a limited time, and then things just go after that.

Basically, I told the people I needed to tell in person first: my parents, Kat, Laurel, Becky, Laura, Blair, Wanda, Tracey... and then I posted it on my blog, and emailed a few more people about it, and then I got into telling people that it affected next year, which is mostly people from church--Scott, Heather, and Bronwyn, to be exact.

And, as we all expected, within a day of it hitting the children's ministry office, it seems like everyone knows something. Between Marva and Leah, there are no secrets, so by the time I got to church this morning, I got many comments about it.

It's good news, though, and it's not gossip--it's people that are excited for me, sharing my news with other people that are significant in my life.

There are a few humorous incidents, though. For one, Ian talked to my parents about it the other day--that's how far throughout the church staff it's spread. I don't usually think of him as the type to hear about what I'm up to, but apparently this is big enough.

Second, I found it even more humorous that Lois knew before Blair did. Becky told Lois and Susan soon after I told her, and I didn't get a chance to see (or tell) Blair for about four days after that. I just find it funny that I'm in their family grapevine, too. To some extent, anyways.

Speaking of family grapevines... I was talking to my dad today, and I told him about Becky's reaction to my New York news (basically: "I'm really excited for you, but if this fall wasn't going the way it was, I'd have a really difficult time being this happy"), which lead to telling him the work news for the fall, which explained why I wasn't having huge compunctions and guilt about leaving the store at this point. And, after all this, what was his first reaction? His first question?

"So, what's Blair going to do in the fall? Do you know what his plans are yet?"

Nothing about me, nothing about Becky, nothing about the store itself. No, his first concern goes to Blair. So, let's just say that if I've somehow managed to worm my way into his family in any way, he has definitely managed to reciprocate (albeit somewhat inadvertantly, I'm sure) quite nicely.

And tonight's movie option was Land of the Dead with Craig, and I'm really just not that into zombie movies, so I came home to start my laundry, watch something that's much more up my alley, and possibly do some scrapbooking, now that I've got the doubles of my mom's pictures from last summer.

One year ago today: We got so spoiled the past couple of weeks. The weather here is nice, but not hot, and we're so cold, because we got used to the 30�+ weather along the Mediterranean, and now, we just can't handle this 20-25� weather. Personally, I much prefer the 30� days, but I guess we couldn't stay there forever. This confirms my fear, though, that my tan is going to fade over the next 3 weeks, because we won't be anywhere near that hot, and no one will believe that I was as dark as I am now!!
infinite || abyss

posted at 9:12 p.m.