about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Jan. 26
... Little Bo Peep
So, it's not my fault, and it's not Logan's fault. It was the weather/car's fault. Yeah. It's been -30 with a windchill of about -40 (Celsius) all day. My car wouldn't start. It always starts in cold weather, so I don't need to plug it in. But no, not today. So, I missed all my classes, and I don't have to go in to work if I don't want to. The car won't get me there--it depends whether I want to take the bus. I'm so not motivated to go in to work.

And honestly, being controlled by the weather makes me feel a little like a wimp. I mean, come on. I live in Calgary, not Toronto. We don't shut down when it hits -20. We keep going, because this is what our weather is like. However, I've been stuck in the house all day, because my dang car won't start.

I can't say that I've been really sad about that, though. It's nice to have a day of absolutely nothing. I should have been doing homework all day, but I haven't been. I've been sitting around, being lazy. It's just that kind of day, with that kind of weather. You want to be curled up with a good book or movie, a huge mug of hot chocolate, and a pillow available for the moment when your eyelids get too heavy.

I have to decide whether I want to go to work within about the next 5 minutes. I'm fine taking the bus there, but I'm not so keen on taking it home tonight. I'm becoming such a wimp. I used to take the bus all the time, but these days, I'm just not so much into it. Especially not when it's -40 degrees outside.

*sigh* I want summer to be here now. Hot, 30 degree weather. On the positive side, obviously.
infinite || abyss

posted at 4:53 p.m.