about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Feb. 27
... Won't you be my neighbor?
This is sad. I remember my mom telling me once that Mister Rogers was one of her role models in children's work... his show was/is such an antidote to the fast-paced, commercial-driven entertainment that we're so used to now. It treats children with more respect, I think, than a lot of shows do. He regarded them as being capable of sitting still and focusing on one thing for longer than 30-second sound bytes.

I don't think he catered to the whims of a preschooler's attention span, but, even in a TV show, displayed discipline. Maybe we have such short attention spans because no one's thought to challenge the idea that we can learn to focus longer? Who knows--if we had more people who believed that about kids, where would we be now? What would entertainment be like? What would the pace of life in general be like?

I don't know, but I think that the world has lost one of the best role models and examples that children have had in a long time.

One year ago today: Okay, my stomach is teaming up with my eyes once again to revolt against the computer screen, and they're holding the chicken soup hostage. They're threatening to throw it out into the cold and not let it come back in if I don't get off here soon and let them take a break. I think they're campaigning for a hot shower, too. *sigh* Union demands. I supposed I'll have to go appease them.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:25 p.m.