about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Oct. 30
... NaNoWriMo.... huh?
I think... I think... I think I must be crazy. Honestly. What on earth could have prompted me to do such a thing? Especially on the spur of the moment? I don't know. We don't ask those kinds of questions. We just go with the flow.

Cindy keeps talking about taking risks as an artist. Just get in there and do something. Take care of the quantity, let God take care of the quality. Take risks. If you don't just do, you'll never get to a place where you're making art. It's about playing and having fun--art is the process, not the destination.

So I've been hearing that in my tutorial class for the past 2 months, and it's been sinking it, I guess. I just didn't realize how much until today.

I just signed up for NaNoWriMo. Or, for the uninitiated (as I was until about 3 hours ago), National Novel Writing Month. Yes, I'm committing to write a 50,000-word novel by November 30. I start on Friday.

I have no plot. I have no characters. I have no idea what shape this is going to take, but I'm excited for it nonetheless. I think it'll be fun... definitely a challenge, and I don't know if I'll finish it, but it'll be fun. And I'm not going to self-defeat before I ever get started!

So, here we go. You should go check it out. Just for fun. Maybe you'll get hooked along with me!
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:41 p.m.