about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Mar 7
... Living under their roof
So apparently my mother thinks I should move back home. Yah right! I can hardly handle going out for lunch with them, or spending 3 days home at Christmas, let alone moviong back!!!

Apparently she was talking to Kat's mom, and telling her how they'd help pay for gas and a car and everything so I could commute, if I'd move back home. She thinks I'm not taking care of myself and I can't manage on my own. But let me tell you, there is absolutely no way I could ever move back with them. It would drive me nuts, and it would drive them nuts. It would be a constant power struggle, and I don't know if she realizes how much of a battle it would be. I've lived on my own for a year and a half now, and there's no way I could go back to living under their roof and rules.

Honestly, I think they just want that control over my life back. Sorry. Not gonna happen. They've only ever had the bare minimum amount of control, influence, and knowledge about my life as I could ever give them, and I couldn't wait to get out of the house. I love the fact that they don't have that much of a say anymore, and there's no way I could ever give that back.

I love my parents, but I can't live with them. I will do anything in my power not to live with them again. If I can't afford school, I'll take a semester off and work so I can pay. If they cut off my support, I'll make it. I really don't want their financial support... I wish I could do it without them. For now, I can't, but I can't wait until the day when I can pay for my own life without having to ask them or show them anything.

So as much as my mom would like me to move back home, it's not going to happen. Ah well... she has to let me grow up sometime. May as well be now.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:13 p.m.