about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Oct. 13
... Pretty in pink
Chcknscrtch wrote this, and I thought it was absolutely hilarious. Go check out the entire entry, but this paragraph just made me laugh.

According to one of my linguistics textbooks, there are 11 basic color terms: white, black, brown, red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple, pink, and gray. This is bizarre to me. What is so special about pink that it is able to break off from red and become its own special concept? Why are sky blue, mint green, lavendar, beige still bonded to a parent color? (I can't even come up with a good term for "light orange" or "light yellow".) I can understand all the other colors being on the list, even gray (because saying "light black" or "dark white" just doesn't make a lot of sense), but PINK befuddles me.

Now I see why pink is the symbolic color of femininity: it wields a power that all acknowledge and none understand.

See what I mean? Laura will appreciate this muchly. It gives at least somewhat of an explanation for the mystery of pink. I don't think there's another color that's debated, loved, or hated nearly as much as pink. Weird, hey?

I made a funky new change to my diary!! I made my cast page all cool... it's all updated and stuff, and I've made it so that if you click on someone's name in an entry, it'll go straight to their description in my profile. You know, just so that you don't get so confused. :o) Okay, so it's not that big a deal, but I thought it was pretty cool! I know, I know, I know. Small things. But honestly. Try clicking on Laura's name, either there, or in the paragraph above, and see what it does.

Oy. I'm such a geek.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:53 p.m.