about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Mar. 17
... Can't help but be scared by it all sometimes
Who knew I could be so productive after 10:00 p.m.! After I finished with rehearsal and Logan picked me up at 9:45, I took the car and actually got to work. First, a trip downtown.

See, I was downtown the other day--yesterday? I think so, although it feels much longer ago than that--taking pictures for the video in my showcase. I needed to go back at night, to get some different shots, and some of the same ones at night, so tonight was as good a night as any. So, here's me, standing downtown at 10:30 at night, taking random pictures of streetlights and buildings, when a very friendly black man walks up to me.

"Are you a newspaper lady?" he asks.

I'm a little taken aback--most strangers just look at me weird; they don't start a conversation. "No, I'm just working on a school project."

He smiles. "School does that to you?"

I assume he's talking about the oddity of me being downtown late at night, taking pictures of random things in the dark. "School does a lot of things to you."

"Are you a journalism major?"

Sensible question, given the huge camera slung around my neck and the 5 rolls of film in my purse. "Nope, I'm a theatre major. I'm working on my final project, and part of it is a multi-media kind of thing, so I'm just trying to get some pictures for that."

"So you're almost finished, then?"

"Yeah, just a couple months left."

"Well, at least you can see the end. Remember that. I know the feeling--I've been there. Sometimes it seems like it'll never come, but the end is in sight. Good luck!"

And he walked away.

Funny how God knows the encouragement we need at just the right time.

Fast-forward about 1/2 hour. I decide that this is a prime time to go to the airport to get some shots that I want there--mostly arrival and departure signs, but if I happen to find anything else that looks good, I'll use that too. I wander around for about 1/2 hour (which is how long I have until the free parking ends), taking pictures of random signs, gazing longingly at the Tim Hortons, thinking that I'm getting very thirsty. I resist the temptation, though, and leave.

... but the pull of the Timmy's Iced Cap is far too strong. I stop at a Tim's on the way home (one of about 4 that I pass coming home from the airport) and get an Iced Cappuccino and a blueberry muffin, and sit down and proceed to write the final piece of the monologue that I've been blocked/procrastinating (saying that I'm "blocked" sounds so much more artistic than saying that I'm procrastinating) on for the past two months, at least.

So, I'm home. And I just put in a load of laundry.

I don't think I've had a day this productive in a long time! At least, it feels more productive than other days. Maybe that's because the things I did were actually things that I could cross off my to-do list, instead of just being those inane little chores that have to be done, but that don't amount to much.

I'm starting to have a little more faith in myself again. Maybe this thing will get off the ground after all. You never know, but maybe, just maybe, it'll actually fly.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:30 a.m.