about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Mar. 22
... He was one of Egypt's millionaires
I'm trying to think of some way to start my entry besides, "I sniffled, coughed, and sneezed my way through a 4-hour Joseph rehearsal this afternoon," but I'm not coming up with anything. My life is so redundant. Not boring, per se, but quite redundant. I do the same things, over and over and over again. They keep me busy, and they're very interesting to me, but they aren't always conducive to gripping entries.

I realized that my life's built around repetition a lot, particularly because I'm in theatre. That was the weirdest thing to me about Kat and Christian's wedding. We only did it once. I'm so used to rehearsing everything for months, and then having anywhere from two to ten (or more) times in front of an audience to get it right. If something doesn't go right in one performance, you fix it for the next time. That's just the way life goes. At the wedding, the ceremony finished, and I was all ready to do it again to fix the glitches. What do you mean, it's just done once?

Hmm. Maybe theatre gives me a warped perspective on reality. Oh well. It's my warped perspective, and I like it.

However, I'm so glad that I'm not in Edmonton right now. We were supposed to have one more one-act festival to go to, and it got cancelled. Oh darn. I'm so disappointed. I really wish I could be there. Can you tell how heartbroken I am?

It's funny how there are things about leadership that really go against human nature. I mean, I think there's a part of most people that wants to be in charge and that wants to be able to boss other people around in some degree or another, but we (I) don't always like the amount of responsibility that falls.

For instance, when one of my crew--someone working under me--screws up, the blame falls on me from my superiors. I can then take it to whoever messed up, but I always want to blame them in the first place. "I'm doing my job, can't you tell?" Yeah, but if everyone under me isn't doing their job, I'm not doing mine well enough. That's just a simple fact. Everyone has their responsibilities, and one of mine is to pick up their slack. Which often means that I *gasp, shock* work harder than my crew. Wow, what a concept. The level of work shifts from the top down. The people at the top of the totem pole are the ones doing the most work; everyone else falls into place after that.

It's just an interesting observation. That's the way it should go, I think, but it kind of topples some preconceptions about leadership and being "in charge."

Anyways, I need to go finish compiling my shopping/to do lists for Joe. Monday's rehearsal will come quicker than I think it will, and there's a lot to do before then.

One year ago today: You know what I miss most about dorms? At least lately (well, besides Lynsae)? The built in social life. :o) You didn't have to go any further than 10 feet down the hall to find someone to do something with, whether it was just sitting in the lounge watching movies, taking a sev run, or going bowling. I mean, there were 40 of us there--there had to be someone there to do something with!
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:07 p.m.