about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sun, Mar. 23
... Lives that are lost, restored
Well. First production meeting for Singles tonight... I'm looking forward to that show. It'll be good to expand my connections a little bit, and have a wider base of contacts. Also, the more companies I can work with, the better.

I got to sit in a church service this morning, and it was a beautiful feeling. Sometimes it feels like I'll go for weeks without actually going to church, even though I'm there, and it was nice to just be able to kick back, worship, and enjoy the service without having any responsibilities before, during, or after the service.

There's a kids show that's on Treehouse, called The Toy Castle, and it absolutely fascinates me. Janel thinks it's creepy, but I love it. The characters are all toys that come to life, and they never talk--it's all done in voice-overs.

But the whole show is dance-based. The actors are obviously all trained in ballet and several other forms of dance, and it's quite a ballet-oriented show. A very interesting concept. The characters are toys like the Ballerina, Toy Soldier, Mouse, China Doll, Rag Doll, Strong Man, and things like that, and all of their movements are so graceful and based in dance.

I've always loved dance--I wanted to be a dancer when I was younger, and it's something that I still want to train in someday. Not to a professional level, obviously, but to the kind of standard that would let me be proficient and use the principles of the movement in my acting.

I think that's what fascinates me so much about that show. They don't always dance--although there are sometimes actual dances--but all of their movements are so based in the dance that it permeates every movement they make, from their heads to their hands to the way they bend over. I just love it.

One year ago today: But not yet, apparently. I get so scared, though, that I'm going to miss out. That all my friends are going to get married and move on to that next stage of life, and I'll still be stuck here, and I'll lose contact with them, and not have those friendships as closely as I do now. I'm afraid that I'll get left behind. I want that someone to be my absolute best friend, that I can still have those great friendships with other people, but at the end of the day, I know I have a best friend there, no matter what. I don't want to be stuck trying to build a life with other single people when the people I've been closest to are married and moving on. I want to move on with them, and right now I'm not.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:49 p.m.