about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Aug 20
... It's a Romans 7 Day
Sometimes, I make myself sick. It's days like today when I really don't want to know, in any way, shape, or form, what other people think of me. My own thoughts are bad enough; I don't need other people adding to them. Someone please tell me why I'm sometimes such an idiot. Hang on, that just contradicted myself--I just said that I didn't want to know what other people think right now. Today's a Romans 7 day:

"I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do--this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it. So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God's law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God--through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God's law, but in the sinful nature a slave to the law of sin." (v 16-25)

Oh, the last verse is a lifesaver. Thanks be to God! I don't have to keep being a slave to sin, I don't have to keep doing what it tells me I "have" to do. Through Jesus, I can become a slave to God, rather than a slave to sin. We're getting there. It's slow, but we're getting there. Like I said before, two steps forward, one step back. And this is definitely a step back, but that means that a step forward is next!
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:27 a.m.