about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Jan. 9
... And when the sandman sprinkles your eyes...
It's funny how a lot of days just don't turn out the way you expect them to. Like today. I was hoping to go home and take a nap this afternoon after work, before I went for coffee with Nadine. Did that happen? Noooo.... I ended up driving across the city to pick something up, and it just didn't work the way I was expecting it to. Oh well. It was good anyways, and it was stuff that needed to be done.

I'm just not doing so well with this whole "getting up early" deal. 8:15 classes two days, and then work at 9:00 on the days that I don't have class. Oy. Am I being forced to conform to a "normal" sleep schedule? Because if I am, I don't like it very much. I want to march to the beat of my own sandman, thank you very much.

It's 11:00, and I'm already beat, exhausted, and in every other way ready for bed. I haven't been that way since high school! Seriously--I don't think that I've had this "normal" of a schedule since then. Nooo... when we were on tour. And during the summers, when I've been working a 9-5 job. Okay, that's the last time.

But still. My ideal schedule runs more along the lines of sleeping from 3 a.m. until 11 a.m. Not sleeping from 11 p.m. until 7 a.m. I'll still get my 8 hours of sleep; I'd just prefer to get them on my own terms.

Maybe sleep is the one area of my life where I'm an anarchist.

I bought textbooks today. That's a futile exercise that I will never understand. There are some that I want to keep, but really, was the system that we had in elementary school, junior high school, and high school all that bad? Pay a $40 a year textbook rental fee, and boom, you're covered for the year. That would be so much more efficient. Or maybe they could have a system where you could rent books for the semester, buy the ones you'll want to keep (like all of my theatre and most of my theology books), and it would all be hunky dory.

I think do--they call it buying books second-hand, and then reselling them, don't they. But this would just make it so much easier. I'm far too lazy to go to the trouble of trying to sell my books. Especially at Rocky, where we don't have a used bookstore--you just have to buy or sell them through ads on a bulletin board. Far too much trouble... I always end up buying them new (unless I can find them used at the U of C or someplace like that), and then I end up keeping them.

So I'm building a reference library that I'll never touch again? Good way for your bookshelves to look impressive, if nothing else.

Anyways, I've talked about sleep and textbooks. You know what your life is dominated by when...

I'm going to bed.

One year ago today: What a crazy night last night... I didn't sleep well at all. Normally, I don't move around all that much, but I woke up in the middle of the night, down towards the foot of my bed, with my discman underneath me and my pillow still up at the head of the bed. I must have been really, really restless, even in my sleep. Sad that even when I'm sleeping I can't get away from the things that worry me or stress me out during the day.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:58 p.m.