about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sunday, Oct. 23, 2005
... We live in a beautiful world
I had a really good conversation with my grandma this afternoon... I try to call her once every few weeks or so, and we usually end up chatting for about an hour or so, and it's becoming less and less of an obligation, and more and more of a pleasure. We were talking today about how a part of growing up is seeing your parents as people, not just as "momanddad"--that entity that has only existed since you did.

Anyways, I realized that I'm starting to reach that milestone with my grandma. We don't just talk about which aunts and uncles and cousins are doing what (although she does update me on everyone else in the family); we actually have conversations. The kinds of conversations I have with my friends--friends of all ages. Whether it's Kat, Becky, or anyone else, my conversations with friends are becoming more and more consistent. You know? They're life conversations, not just situational conversations. I can carry on pieces from one to all the others, and it's an intelligent discussion that I can have with everyone from a 22-year-old to a 75-year-old. I like that.

To me, that's an important part of growing up--realizing that all relationships, and especially all relationships between women, have the same undertones. The situations may be different, but the base of what we need to talk about is all the same, and I love that fact. I love learning the pieces of the picture from everyone, and I love being a part of this intricate web of wisdom and sisterhood.

I know that sounds so incredibly cliched and trite, but the more solid relationships I form with women, the more I find it to be true.

One year ago today: Oh yeah. Part four of the blessed buzz? Nerves. I'm leading my Sunday School kids in a Seder (Passover) meal tomorrow morning, and I'm so far out of my comfort zone, I'll need a map to get home. I've participated in the thing once or twice, but I'm certainly not qualified to lead it. And yet... here I go.
infinite || abyss

posted at 6:57 p.m.