about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Tues, May. 11
... And when you think of yesterday
I think that the reason I'm not really a fan of this season of American Idol is that there just isn't that much diversity. I mean, the girls that are left all sound the same. That was the great thing about last season--Clay and Ruben were so different. And I personally happen to think that Clay was the better of the two, but that was the thing that was so great about it--it polarized North America. People were split right down the middle, but we all knew that, for all intents and purposes, they both won. I mean, look at it. Clay's had the more successful career (to this point), and he was the "runner up."

But this year, they're all the same. It's harder to care as much about any one of them. They sound so much alike that it almost doesn't matter who wins.

Dria, Edwin, and I went to see Mean Girls tonight. Cute movie, but when it was over, I was suddenly and violently hit with the realization that high school teen movies don't apply to me anymore. Not even in the, "Yeah, I'm still in school, and even though it's not high school, some things never change" kind of way. I walked out of there thinking, "It was a cute movie, but I'm totally not there anymore." That was a weird thought.

I realized today that Janel leaves for Drum this week, and I was thinking about what that was like last year. This was when I was just getting into my 6 weeks or so without roommates--just Linus (who was really tiny) and me at the house.

And then I realized that this was about the time (give or take a week or so) when Logan stayed with me for a week. Both Janel and Chelsea were gone for the summer, and he needed a place to stay between choir tour and Undivided tour, so he stayed at our place. That was, at the time, kind of odd. We had hardly said two words to each other--we really only knew each other through school, but here he was, sleeping in my living room. Not that he was home much during the days, but we bonded (to a point) over American Idol and the fact that we both play piano.

The funniest thing about the whole situation is that both of us essentially forgot about it. When Janna broached the idea of living together later in the summer, that week didn't play into either of our decisions. In fact, I didn't really remember it until this season of Idol started, and I remembered--and mentioned to Logan--that we had watched last year's finale together.

Who could have guessed at that point how it would turn out, hey? I certainly never would have thought in a million years that we would live together for 8 months, and that we would end up being so close.

Hmm. Just goes to show that you never really know. The assumptions that you take for granted without even thinking about them could turn out to be completely wrong.

And PS, Flames won again! We lead this series 2-0!

One year ago today: Oy. I need some sleep. I was at the theatre for 10 hours today loading in for Singles. That show has been really strange to me... I feel like I haven't been doing much--I'm doing hair, makeup, and light design--and it's not really stuff that I needed to be at rehearsals all along for. This week will be busy, but it's definitely different. I mean, after Joseph and Our Town, it's something much less involved, and that's an interesting feeling. Nice to be involved without having to run the show.
infinite || abyss

posted at 11:58 p.m.