about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Sept. 19
... Telephone, telegraph, tell the world
Friday Five! Yay!!

1. Would you say that you're good at keeping in touch with people? Yah, I'm pretty good... there are people, of course, that I've gotten out of touch with, but for the most part, I'm pretty decent when it comes to emailing people back, calling them, going for coffee, or whatever.

2. Which communication method do you usually prefer/use: e-mail, telephone, snail mail, blog comments, or meeting in person? Why? Definitely real life. It's just more authentic. It's easier to trust someone when you can watch their eyes while you talk to them, see the way they live their life, and the way they treat others. You can get to know someone otherwise, but it's just so much richer in person.

3. Do you have an instant messenger program? How many? Why/why not? How often do you use it? Yes, I have msn, and I'm on it pretty much whenever I'm on my computer. That doesn't, however, mean that I'm talking on it all the time. I talk on it a few times a week, mostly with people I don't see that often, or who live far away. I've had my share of frustrations with it; particularly with someone that I talked to all the time anyways. It's horrible to fight on, because you just can't see them. We'd talk on it for hours on end, though. Sometimes it would be a good conversation; sometimes bad... but since we don't really talk anymore, I don't use it as much.

4. Do most of your close friends live nearby or far away? About half and half. Obviously my close friends from school live nearby, but when it comes to my best friends... it's a mix. Kat lives with me; Laura's here half the time, and Lyns is in Edmonton. Other close friends are scattered around. Some here, some elsewhere.

5. Are you an "out of sight, out of mind" person, or do you believe that "distance makes the heart grow fonder"? It depends on the person and the situation. Sometimes, I can just move on, especially if it's someone I wasn't really that close to in the first place. If it's someone I'm really close to, though, I definitely miss them a lot. Sometimes, I get into the situations where I won't talk to someone for a few weeks, and then I start to think about and almost plan all kinds of things in my own head... then, when I talk to them again, I realize that nothing's like that, because they've been thinking different things than I have, or because circumstances have made things different, or whatever. It's just funny, I think.

And that's it for this week. It's freezing in my house today! And I'm exhausted... you'd think it was later than 10:00!
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:03 p.m.