about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, May 11
... When you are with me
You know what sucks? I went shopping yesterday and have several cute new outfits but... you guessed it. I'm in blacks all week. I ended up in the booth during the show after all, which means that I must stay in my blacks, or my favorite stage manager will shoot me with one of the guns we keep backstage.

I did, however, spend my day off yesterday shopping. Finished my mom's birthday/Mother's Day gift, got a couple of skirts, some new underwear, a new pair of flip flops, a couple of shirts, a book, and laundry detergent. Now that's exciting, isn't it?

I've decided that shorts are evil, and I give up trying to ever find shorts that fit properly and don't show half my bum. I'm just going to wear skirts for the most part. I have a few pairs of shorts still from previous summers, but the plan, this year, is to wear skirts. They're wonderful--get the right ones, and you can dress them up with a fancier shirt and heels, or down with a tank top and flip flops. They're just as summery as skirts, but you look more pulled together and nicer all around.

That's the plan, anyways. I still need to find some good sandals, and a few plain, solid-colored t-shirts, but I'm on the hunt for those, and I don't need them right away.

The show went really well tonight... the countdown to free evenings is on! Who wants to place bets on how fast I'll be bored out of my tree and clamoring for someone to hang out with or something to do?

I love that this show is a show that you walk away from with all these different thoughts and ideas rattling around in your head, and you're not sure what to do with them. It takes a while for them to cogitate and become something--I still get something new from it every time I see it, and I've been seeing it for months. I've been reading and hearing the words for 6 months, and I'm just now seeing some of the depth to it. It's great--I love it--there are parts that I don't love--it makes me think.

I don't think that it's a show that any two people will watch and get the same thing from. Everyone will agree and disagree with something different, and that's what makes it so unique. I'm excited for the reactions of people who come to see it. I've got people all over the board of thoughts and opinions, and it's going to be interesting to see where everyone stands when they walk away from it.

Anyways. I was up at 6:30 this morning to go have breakfast with Vanessa--definitely worth driving across the city at 7:30 a.m., but now it means that I'm really tired, and I should get some sleep, or I'll be dead for the rest of the week.


infinite || abyss

posted at 11:29 p.m.