about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Thurs, Feb. 17
... The only road that I have ever known
Like the new template? I finally got around to changing it. And since Valentine's Day is over, and I successfully avoided the pink templates, I decided to go for something that looks, to me, like early spring. It reminds me of being a kid at the farm, tromping through the fields, and, on more than one occasion, getting so mired in the mud that my boots got stuck and I had to walk back to the house barefoot in the freezing cold slush and mud.

Yeah, that's what it looks like to me. Besides, who doesn't like the idea of exploration? Really, that's what life is all about, isn't it?

Although I might miss my e.e. cummings from the old template. I seriously have to get at least one volume of his poetry.

I've just spent all morning on the computer at my dad's office (only a few more weeks... hopefully, only one more paycheck until I have my own...), working on my Sunday School curriculum for all of March. I'm meeting with Bronwyn tomorrow to go over all that stuff and nail down some details for the month.

I really like my kids.

The first reading and design meeting for Under a Bridge, Along a River was last night... I'm really excited for that show. Even more now than I was before last night. I think that there are a lot of talented people working on it who have a lot to offer, and I'll be able to learn a lot from them, just by working alongside them. It'll be good. And I love the fact that the designers are experts in their fields, not just people who tried out for a part and didn't get one, so they're designers by default instead. That's where a lack of commitment and passion comes in.

With these people, they're all at the top of their respective fields, and they love what they do, and, for the most part, aren't actors anyways. A few of them are, but they came on board the show as designers right from the start, not as actors-who-weren't.

So, for a cast of three, we had a production meeting/reading last night of about 20 people. Uh huh. Over 15 techs and designers. And the directing/SM team, of course. But in any case, it should look excellent. Wanda has got an excellent vision for the show, and I'm really excited to be on board and learn from her as we go.

But seriously. The rest of yesterday? Before that? Holy crap. If Tuesday was the day of the chatty customer, yesterday was the day of the retarded customer. Seriously. People should know better. But I guess they don't. And then the retarded customers turned into the frustrating co-workers, and the rest is history.

So I smiled and laughed my way through most of the day, because it was either that or scream. And there's only one place to scream in the store--in the freezer. And it's too cold in there to spend as much time as I would have needed to spend. So I smiled instead.
infinite || abyss

posted at 12:16 p.m.