about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Mon, Feb. 14
... Almost see, in the dark there is light
Happy Valentine's Day!

I decided that I wasn't going to be depressed today, so I work pink and red ribbons in my hair (I don't think I've worn ribbons in a ponytail since I was about 8) and baked Valentine's cookies to take to work. Umhmm. And it worked, for the most part.

I'm realizing more and more that I'm doing what every woman swears that she will never do. I'm becoming more like my mother every day. And you know what the really scary part is? It's not as bad as I thought it might be.

But shhhh. Don't tell her for another few years.

Seriously, though, I'm beginning to see so many ways that her personality has impacted me and shaped me, and ways that I (both knowingly and unknowingly) emulate her. Just wait until I have kids. The world won't know what to do with two of us!

And, of course, there are many ways in which I'm very, very different from my mom--we have such different personalities--and I think that I'll raise my kids differently in some aspects, but there are more and more things that I'm seeing are important to carry on. Traditions. Moments. Not necessarily the ideologies of child-rearing, but the family heritage that is becoming ever so much more important to me.

*sigh*

Kat, this part's for you (just because I'm sure you're waiting for details, and waiting to see how much I'll say!):

The Blair-Ismarys-Christy-Alida trip to Red Deer last night turned into the Blair-and-Alida trip to Crossfield. Ish.

What a bizarre few days.

To summarize: Dressing up, snowstorms, traditions, whiteouts, '90's dance music, silent treatment, cowboy hat boy, bra girl, cookies, a dozen roses, submission.

Maybe not the "best" Valentine's Day I've ever had, but it ranks up there as one of the oddest.
infinite || abyss

posted at 5:47 p.m.