about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Sat, Feb. 12
... All in my head
Hmmm. Last night, we drank Yop at work. I used to love Yop when I was a kid--it was one of those treats that I got when we went grocery shopping, if I'd been good, and if my mom felt like I deserved a treat of some kind. To this day, it's one of those things that's a constant reminder of my childhood, and I don't get it for myself very often--maybe to maintain the feeling that it's a treat.

So anyways, at work yesterday evening, we somehow got on the topic of Yop, and how Blair, Adam, and I all liked it. After I got off work, I had to buy groceries, and it just wouldn't have been right to do it without buying some Yop for myself, so I did--and I bought a bottle for each of the boys and took it back to work before I went home. And that's my story of the day.

I know that it's well past Thursday (and even if it wasn't, this Thursday Threesome is a week old anyways), but I liked the questions, and I have a few minutes, and nothing better to write about. So...

Onesome: All-- all the world's a stage... So what types of issues put you on your soapbox? My online soapbox? Just about anything that's on my mind. Sometimes totally mundane and pointless; sometimes borderline profound. It honestly depends on how creative I'm feeling, what I'm thinking about and mulling over, and if I can think of anything interesting to say. In real life? Most people would say that my biggest soapbox has to do with "Christian theatre." I can get going for ages on the role of creativity in the church, the role of arts in worship, the place that theatre has within faith... all those things. I'm pretty opinionated when it comes to that.

Twosome: Things-- what sort of things are you most likely to purchase "spur of the moment" when shopping? Something on sale. A new shirt, a skirt, a movie, a book... something like that. I don't really buy much spur of the moment, but when I do, chances are that it was on sale and it was too good a deal to pass up.

Threesome: Girl-- sugar and spice and everything nice? Come now, what are YOU really made of? What do you think I'm made of? Sugar and spice and everything nice, naturally. Heh. No... I couldn't tell you the proportions, but I'm a few parts optimism, a few parts moodiness, a few parts devil's advocate, a few parts the baggage from my life, a few parts hope for the future, a few parts my relationships, a few parts the achievements that say something about me, a big part my faith, a few parts my hobbies, a few parts the way others see me, a few parts the way I see myself, a few parts my heritage... Are those enough "parts" for you?

One year ago today: Why can't I be content in the knowledge that God loves me, and the rest is just gravy. Why does it matter so much what other people think, and why do I let myself get so affected by it? Why can't I just be secure and rest in the assurance of my Heavenly Father?
infinite || abyss

posted at 1:24 p.m.