about me

Alida: A 23-year-old Canadian exploring the infinite abyss that is New York City.

navigate

home
archives
profile
notes
guestbook
links
cast
about

recent posts

Uncle Richard, me, and James Earl Jones - Tuesday, Apr. 04, 2006
So beautiful when the boy smiles - Sunday, Apr. 02, 2006
One way or another - Sunday, Dec. 25, 2005
Way up high - Saturday, Dec. 10, 2005
Reason to start over new - Friday, Dec. 09, 2005

archives

2005: January February March April May June July August September
2004: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2003: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2002: January February March April May June July August September October November December
2001: May June July August September October November December



credits

Diaryland
Valid XHTML!
Valid CSS!
imaclanni
Wed, Sept. 15
... Leave a note for you, my only one
I have two days in a row off. That never happens. And if I had a car that wouldn't guzzle gas like it was water, I would have gotten up early this morning and taken off to Vancouver. As it is, I slept in, and now have the rest of the day stretching out ahead of me. I have guarded today's schedule almost jealously--I have nothing planned. Nothing scheduled. Tomorrow is a little bit more structured, but today is just a day off. The house is unpacked and clean, so I don't have that looming over my head; I don't have to work; I don't have any meetings; I don't have a single appointment. I may even skip the gym today. But then again, that might not be the best idea. We'll see, though.

I do need to get some scriptwork done for the Christmas show before I meet with Mike tomorrow, but I'm planning to just go find somewhere to work, read, relax.

Maybe Banff--it would be good to get out of the city for a little while, at least. Even if it's not to Vancouver. And I could drop in on Norm. But we'll see how the day goes... that's the best part of today. Nothing in particular to do; nowhere in particular to be. Just where I want to be, go, do.

Oh. Now I've got all kinds of ideas swirling through my head. I could start scrapbooking my trip. I could go journal for hours. I could take a camera and film, and just have fun with it. I could take a book and just relax in a coffee shop and read. I could go visit as many used bookstores as possible--ooh, I like that one. Heh. Check back for an update about what I did... I'm sure I'll have something to say.

It's funny. Sometimes there are friendships that have changed so much that your only point of reference is the past. Your lives have changed so much that there's so little in common in the present, but the past is enough. You love that person enough to let the memories carry you through, and it's enough of a starting point to build new memories.

One year ago today: We're all growing up so much. It's been a long time since we were a bunch of scared, excited, apprehensive 18-year-olds, moving out of the house for the first time, and trying to assert our independence in every way possible. We learned a lot that first year. That was such a huge part of what shaped me and made me the woman I am now.
infinite || abyss

posted at 10:52 a.m.